Certified Public Manager Program

Capstone Project

KUPMC Certified Public Manager

The Capstone Project provides Kansas Certified Public Manager® program participants with hands-on application of the knowledge and skills they acquire throughout the year. Each participant develops a comprehensive project plan and implements this in their work domain during their time in CPM, resulting in positive returns for the participant and their organization.

Each year the top projects are identified by the Kansas CPM program director and members of the Kansas Society of Certified Public Managers. The winner is given the George C. Askew award by the American Academy of Certified Public Managers. Exceptional projects are innovative; demonstrate an improvement in quality within the work unit as a result of the project; show cost savings or increased revenues as a result of its implementation; are outstanding reflections of CPM principles; and significantly contribute to the organization and work unit.

Top Capstone Projects


KS Automated Nurse Notification Alert System (KANNalert)
Adrian R. Guerrero, Kansas State Board of Nursing – ASKEW AWARD WINNER

A Community-Based Approach for Addressing Blighted Neighborhoods
Jon Quinday, City of Russell

Technology versus The Dollar: When is it worth the money for an advanced water meter?
Tonya Roberts, City of Olathe

Kansas Intelligence System (KIS) Implementation
Michael Rumford, Kansas Bureau of Investigation


Moving Fleet Renewal to an Online Process
Greg Baldwin, Johnson County Treasurer's Office

Centralized Fleet Management Program for Johnson County, KS

Chris Butler, Johnson County Government

Medicare Part B / DME at Kansas Neurological Institute (KNI)
Chuck Hampton, Kansas Neurological Institute - ASKEW AWARD WINNER

Mental Health Co-Responder

Erin O'Donnell, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office

Identifying Programming Errors When Implementing Automated Meter Reading

Mark Pennel, Black Hills Energy

Promoting Excellent Alternatives in Kansas Nursing Homes (PEAK) 2.0
Brad Ridley, Kansas Department on Aging


Askew Award Winner - Agamani Sen with Terri Callahan and Jack Gumb
Agamani Sen accepts the 2010 Askew Award from Terri Callahan (Program Director, Kansas CPM Program) and Jack Gumb (President, KSCPM)

Community Action Gang Education
Thomas Hongslo, Lenexa Kansas Police Department

Enhancing Communication with Stakeholders Through Use of Social Media
Emily Kukal & Erin Vader, City of Olathe

Increasing the Number of Design-Build Projects for Douglas County Public Works
Agamani Sen, Douglas County Public Works - ASKEW AWARD WINNER

SharePoint Site for Elderly and Disabled Benefits Programs in the NE Region of SRS
Edith VonFeldt, KS Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services


Rebuilding Greensburg’s Economy

Steve Hewitt, City Administrator, City of Greensburg - ASKEW AWARD WINNER

Inspections for Stationary Anhydrous Ammonia Containers for Agriculture Use

Katherine Howard, Environmental and Lab Issues Director, Kansas Department of Agriculture & Steve Zink, Director, Kansas Department of Labor

Integrating Social Media Technologies Into City of Garden City Communication Plan:  Enhancing Opportunities for Public Input Into The Local Government Process

Tanner Lucas, Communication Specialist, City of Garden City

Implementation and Evaluation of the Outreach Clinical Laboratory Services at SWMC

Gabriel Jose Ramirez, Laboratory Manager, Southwest Medical Center

Paycheck Modeling Tool for State of Kansas Employees

Sunni Zentner, Accountant IV, Kansas Department of Administration


Kent Seyfried Accepts 2008 Askew Award
Kent Seyfried accepts the 2008 Askew Award
Data Security and Sanitization

Alan F. Chapas, Public Service Executive III, Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services

Food Testing Pilot Program

Steve Moris, Public Service Executive II, Kansas Department of Agriculture

Increasing Recycling Participation and Diversion of Solid Waste

Kent Seyfried, Solid Waste Manager, City of Olathe Municipal Services - ASKEW AWARD WINNER

Assessment of County Health Departments Abilities and Willingness to Report Accurate Location Data of Rabies Cases in Kansas

Rolan Davis, Administrator, Kansas State University Veterinary Diagnostic Lab

Development of an Alternate Method of Maintenance and Repair of Aggregate Shoulders in Accordance with the Maintenance Quality Assurance Manual and the KDOT Maintenance Activity Guidelines

Richard Gardner, Highway Maintenance Supervisor & Ron Swogar, Public Service Administrator, Kansas Department of Transportation - ASKEW AWARD WINNERS

Reduction of Utility Accounts Sent to Collection

Barb Slagle, Office Manager for the City, City of Dodge City

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.